top of page

Four Holiday Party Looks //Fashion Formula

How exciting is it that the holidays are now fully upon us?! It's my favorite time of year, as I am sure it is for many of you. Dressing for holiday parties is something that although fun, can be potentially stressful, depending on the dress code of the party, the weather in your city, your budget, and other factors. In this post, I am breaking down my top four looks for holiday parties! These looks can be used as your fashion formula, so that you can feel confident and look ON POINT this holiday season!

LOOK ONE: SEQUINED MINI DRESS

This look screams FUN and PARTY! The holidays are a time to PULL OUT THE SEQUINS! Yes, I'm serious. If there ever was a time to wear sequin-y and sparkly things, now its it! Isn't that fun? While sequins are a bold look, go ahead and wear them to your holiday party to make a statement. I love the mod look of this mini dress. This is a silhouette and texture you will be seeing this time of year at many stores. You will also see this style dress with long sleeves, which is a great option. Unless you are going to a very formal look, I would stick with a short length to keep the look fun and playful. This dress your statement piece, so you want to keep the rest of your look mostly paired down. I chose some black mod booties, which are all the rage right now. (See my previous post on mod booties here. )Since the dress is gold, I kept the accessories gold and black, to keep the look sophisticated. I opted for tassel earrings (maj. trend), a clutch with gold hardware. Since the dress is so busy, I would do a statement earring, but not a necklace. You could also add a chunky bracelet or a cocktail ring (see picks in looks below). I love using a clutch for occasions like these- because who wants to carry around a bulky purse at a party?! The clutch is much sleeker, while you still have room for your essentials (lipstick, mints, wallet, phone). If adding hose to this look, I would be careful to keep the color neutral (nude or black) and without pattern. If the sequined dress is too much for you, opt for sequins on a smaller scale such as on a shirt (shell) with a black skirt or pants. You could also incorporate sequins in your clutch or handbag like this one from Stella and Dot.

Here is your fashion formula for this look:

Sequined mini dress + mod bootie+ bold earring+clutch

Here are my picks for similar dresses shown in this picture at several price points. (Pictures are clickable).

LOOK 2: VELVET DRESS

Look two is a velvet dress. As we all know, velvet continues to be everywhere right now, from high fashion to low fashion. I love the look of this velvet mini wrap dress, (priced at only $19). I paired the dress with a gold statement necklace, and gold stud earrings. For the shoes, I think a heel is definitely in order. I loved the bow accent on the heels. It feels very feminine and classy. Since the dress is sleeveless, I paired it with this faux fur wrap (believe it or not from Amazon and under $30!). This look is all about playing with texture! I chose a black box clutch with a gold accent. If the mini dress is too short or exposed for you, opt for a velvet dress that is longer and or with sleeves (see options below).

Here is your fashion formula:

Velvet dress +ladylike heels + fur wrap + bold accessories + clutch

Here are my picks for a similar dress at different price points:

LOOK 3: LITTLE BLACK DRESS

I love the non-traditional take on this LBD (Little Black Dress). This year it's all about statement sleeves and this dress is a perfect example of that! This dress has been popping up in Facebook adds and searches and I have been OBSESSED with it! You will also never believe the cost! She is only $16!! Like, I am seriously ordering this dress as soon as I am done with this post! This dress incorporates another trend, FLORAL, which is winning right now. I paired it with some patterned tights and a chunky velvet heel (yes, you can wear tights with open toe shoes). This look is again, playing with TEXTURE. I chose a gold clutch, which is a glammed up neutral that boasts a neat faux snake skin texture as well. I love pairing the look with a bold cocktail ring and tassel earrings. This look is another that reminds me so much of the type of fashion I saw London, and what I see on British shows (huge fan!). This gives off a vibe that is both retro and boho- how can you go wrong?

Here is the fashion formula for this look:

LBD with interesting detail (read sleeves, cut, lace or other material, etc.) + tights+ chunky heels +smart accessories + gold clutch

Here are some other LBD's that also play on texture and/or have interesting detail:

LOOK 4: FAUX LEATHER LEGGINGS

This look is a GREAT alternative to those who prefer not to wear a dress, but still want to look party-ready and STUNNING. I am a HUGE fan of the faux-leather legging. As these are skin tight, you are going to want to wear a longer tunic-type top, or even dress on top. I paired them with a camel colored sweater-dress. I love the juxtaposition of the sleek, edgy leather with a soft, fuzzy sweater. I topped of the look with a FAB fur coat. Sadly, the coat is no longer available, but I saw some very similar styles at TJ Maxx recently. I love the colors palette of this coat. Basically, wear this coat (or entire look) and achieve rock star status instantly!! To keep the look edgy but still dressy and classy, I chose a "shootie" (such a funny word, right?) that has cut outs and lacing detail. I added a gold Tory Burch bag (goals) and gold pearl accessories to finish the look. This combo is sure to turn heads! If the fur coat is too much for you, you could add a fur vest, or ditch the notion of fur all together. It is still a fun, sophisticated, and festive look. If the faux- leather leggings aren't your bag, opt for a slim cut black pant.

Here's your fashion formula for this look:

Leather legging + sweater tunic/dress +fur element (optional) + edgy bootie +gold accessories

Here are some leather leggings, sweater dresses, and fur coats similar to above:

Well, I hope you have enjoyed the four holiday looks I have put together! To me, the each are about classiness, glamour, fun, and festivity! Please let me know which of these looks is your favorite, and what you plan on wearing to holiday parties this year!

Happy Holidays! Stay Stylish!

Xo, Ryan

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page