top of page

How to style LulaRoe// Fashion Formula #OOTD

Happy Saturday! For this post, I wanted to share how I style Lula Roe pieces. When Lula Roe first came out, I jumped on the bandwagon as I loved the cute prints. Whenever I saw the stock photos of how they did print mixing, I loved it and thought it was so cute! Now, a good while later, my obsession has died down some, and I am kind of over the themed leggings, but I still like some of their other pieces and enjoy the fun, diverse prints. Now that the craze as died down some, there are a lot of GOOB (going out of business) sales. I have been able to get a few brand new with tags pieces for ten and thirteen dollars, shipped! I have made it a past time scouring the GOOB Facebook page to see what are the cheapest deals every day!

At this price, I wanted to try a few styles that I had never tried before. In today's look, I am wearing a Madison Skirt and the Sarah Cardigan. This my first Madison skirt ever! Since the sizes are so variable, I was not sure what size to order, but I followed the size guide and got a Medium, which fits pretty well. For those that are unaware of this style, the Madison is a high waisted, banded full skirt with pleats and pockets. The pockets are my favorite part. The high waist is flattering and because the skirt is full, you need to pair it with a fitted shirt that is either knotted or tucked in, to define the waist* see my trick for those with a thicker waist and bigger bust below.* The Lula Roe items also come in different fabrics, which I have found interesting. I was expecting this skirt to be usual cotton from the picture, but it is a not, it is a poly blend, I think, and is a slinkier fabric. 

Here is my fashion formula for the Lula Roe Madison (or similar full, short skirt ):

Full Short Skirt + Fitted Top, (tucked in or knotted) + booties + long cardigan (or swap moto jacket)* see photo below for this option.

I paired the green, purple, red, and mustard yellow (my favorite) and black patterned skirt, with a red tee from Target, and tucked the shirt in. This shows off the waistband and pleat detailing of the skirt. For those, like me, who are thick (and short-) waisted, and do not feel comfortable showing off your waistline like this ( believe me, I never do!) here is the trick: To still be able to show off your waistline with the tucked shirt, add a (in this case long) cardigan. Wear the cardigan open. This allows a sliver of your waist to be shown, while enclosing and camouflaging the rest! It's really the best trick and one I rely on heavily! This trick ALSO helps to minimize a large bust! (Again, a very major issue for me). I liked adding the long cardigan, the Lula Roe Sarah to this, to add a little drama and flair to the outfit. I absolutely love a duster cardigan-- so flattering and goes with ALL in your closet. This Sarah was actually thrifted by my sister and a wonderful surprise gift! The long cardigan also elongates your body adding length and drawing the eye down, creating a slimming effect. Again, when wearing items that are long or with lots of volume (skirt), make sure you balance it by wearing something fitted under, or on top or bottom. This skirt would have looked cute with a belt as well. 

A Note about Pattern Mixing: The choice to pair patterned tights with a patterned skirt is bold, yes, but it works because 1) The tights are dark and don't compete with the colors or patterns in the skirt, and 2) the pattern in the tights is small. Always keep size of patterns and colors in mind when looking to pattern mix! 

For my accessories, I picked my red ombre tote bag a green stone tassel necklace (similar here from Oua Jules @ Jewelmint, a gold cuff bracelet from Target, my ABSOLUTE FAVORITE gold hexagon 5 dollar earrings from World Market (go get these this moment!) and two layered gold delicate necklaces. 

Here is how it looked when I swapped in a moto jacket for the Sarah cardigan. Also a fun look!

Outfit Details: Skirt: LulaRoe (Madison); T-Shirt: Target; Cardigan: LulaRoe (Sarah); Moto Jacket: Forever 21; Tights: Forever 21; Boots: Lucky via Marshall's

These are some ideas for styling Lula Roe! I can't wait to hear: Which pieces of LulaRoe are our favorite? How do you style your Madison or Sarah? P.S. If you are a LulaRoe fan, be sure to check out the Going Out of Business Facebook group! 

Stay Stylish,

Xo, Ryan 

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page